Story of my life folks, story of my life.  Today I really should have mowed the backyard.  The outrageousness back there has reached brush hoggin’ proportions but i just can’t bring myself to cut down all these, the wildflowers that are currently making it look like a fairy tale back there…

**

This morning I should have been cleaning the house and finishing the embroidery and two pillows I started for the new couch (we’ll check in on that vintage awesomeness later, by the way), but instead we went a yard salin’.  It was there that I picked up these…

It’s Taylor, Smith, & Taylor – Taylor Ironstone.  Even with that extra little tidbit there I still can’t find the pattern online.  And also, I got it for free.  Yeah, free.  It’s not really my style but did I mention it was…um, free?!

This however, THIS MY FRIENDS HOLY GOD DO YOU SEE THAT?!, is totally my style.  And whopty-do, it’s Franciscan!  A Franciscan Earthenware platter, to be exact, from 1973.  This was not free but it also did not cost me what it would have on eBay or in a antique market, because it wasn’t anything close to 30 bucks.  In fact, it was a big fat dollar.  God, I’m awesome…

**

The Bug should have been taking a nap roundabouts noon…but instead he was fishing with my significant other, leaving me almost an hour by myself to do nothing.  But I did that nothing in peace.  Sweet Jesus it was quiet…and awesome.  You can never fully appreciate simple quiet, I think, until you’ve parented singly.  This is the fruit of his labors…

He actually caught more than one but the man was nice enough to not bring ALL of them home.  This little sucker is now apparently moving into the front yard.  And he brought his own bucket!  How nice of him :).

**

In other good, rather awesome news that has nothing to do with me blowing off an entire Friday, my nice neighbor lady (who dammit! deserves a name — it’s Jessica for future reference) brought up this awesome owl as a gift and later returned with this mushroom necklace that her husband just started hand-carving from found deer horns…

See, awesome, just like I said.  You can find your very own mushroom necklace here and while we’re on that subject, you should totally check out these too…

{Chain Saw Carved Mushroom, $15}

More coolness, right?!  Her full shop here is full of even more vintage loveliness (check out that orange vintage iron).

