Oh internets, how I love thee!  Wait, you’re feeling neglected?  Well, how did that…?  Ah, my absence you say, my neglect here and elsewhere on the world wide web is hurtful eh?  Yeah, um…sorry about that.  Turns out wireless internet in the sticks, though a wonderfully delightful concept, is spotty and annoying and frustrating and nearly non-existent.  I suppose we could switch back to broadband, even dial-up might work, but that would require either a landline or a dreaded cable subscription again and as we’ve happily come to terms with their absence in our lives we’re not going that way.  So we’re sticking with the wireless, however shitty it may be, and internet, you’ll just have to trust in my love for you.  I miss you too man, I miss you too…

In case you haven’t deciphered my rambling, our internet has been horrifically spotty here lately due to the weather (I mean, have you seen the flooding in my neck of the woods people?!) but I’m coning to terms with it.  Having the internet only kick in sparingly is actually helpful to an Olympic procrastinator such as myself – my time here is more meaningful if I know that in approximately 7 seconds my online connection will be dead (I write this post now in hopes that when I’m ready to publish I’ll still be connected).  No more gossip blogs eating up my time, no more wasted hours at GoFugYourself, and just a tad bit of checking in at the Huffington Post before I’m off and back to cleaning/parenting/being outside/doodling/sewing/life.  Anyway, just wanted to give an update of sorts on the situation and my crazy absence…

Things have happened though in my absence, happy things, and while I hope to find the time to address them soon, today is not the day.  Instead, I’m throwing my latest inspiration at you, all at once and in a giant cluster fuck.  Together, I imagine, this is going to look like a mishmash of just random bullshit, but inspiring bullshit nonetheless so enjoy…

First, a little more about me.

**

I’m working on a project of sorts with someone who inspires the shit outta me and I’d like some help.  My part of the ‘job’ entails a little doodling, some hand-drawn type (though the woman is amazing at this herself and needs no help in that area from me, I think), and I’ve basically been freaking over it.  I do like this type of work though and am thinking really hard about how to incorporate this into what I do after the deadline has passed and I no longer have a decent excuse for wasting hours drawing out letters onto paper, but so far embroidery has been the extent of what I’ve come up with.  Anyway, onto the font work and what I need from you, my peeps.  Leave a comment if you don’t mind, let me know which you dig the most (you could also leave a note on one of the photos in my Flickr stream), and I’ll have The Bug pick a number out of a hat and send one commenter a nifty little prize package.  How about that kids?!  Check it below…

Also, if they all suck leave that comment too.  Give me another excuse to keep doodling, I dare you!

**

More things pertaining to me, goods I actually managed to get uploaded to The Shop despite my brief time on the internet…

{LOVE Coasters, $14}

{‘Shroom Coasters, $8}

{Tweet Coasters, $8}

{Spring Tree Coasters, $8}

**

Now for the less egotistical stuff, the things that have nothing to do with me but that have been making my days happy nonetheless…

{The amazing, completely awe-inspiring work of Evan B. Harris (who I first discovered after perusing Lisa Congdon’s wonderful Flickr stream – they did lunch together and I immediately wished I was cool enough to be part of that little date).}

**

{The work of Rachell Sumpter, just as amazing…}

**

{Samuel Ribeyron.  I am constantly in awe of illustrators/artists of any kind.  I so wish that I possessed the skills and creativity to make work like this.  But alas…}

**

{OH MY GOD, GRAMMAR!  From here…}

**

{Love Together Forever print, $10, via OrangeBeautiful.  Type people, TYPE!  It’s an obsession…}

**

{Square Blue Siding Frame, $110, via Second Line Frames.  Second Line builds these frames from the salvaged from homes destroyed in Hurricane Katrina.  A portion of the proceeds from these frames also goes to assist in the rehab of affected neighborhoods.  Righteous, methinks…}

**

{Surviving First Love Merit Badge, $25, via goodEGG Industries.  These things have been making the blog rounds lately but they’re so amazingly simple and perfect I had to put them up.  You read more about the creator, Lee Meszaros, here.}

**

{Orange Bears Plate, $30, via Rare Device.  Bears dude, BEARS!  Check out Katie Parker’s blog here.  It’s good, you’ll thank me…}

**

{Arlington Beach, 1925.  The Shorpy: History in HD blog is so amazingly wonderful.  As much genealogy work as I’ve done over the years, it intrigues me especially.  I keep waiting to come across a photo of my long-lost Great Grandfather.  No luck yet…}

**

{I Hate You.  I Always Have.  Letterpress from Zeichen Press, $4.50.  Look people, the only way I know to express love is through sarcasm.  When me and the boy got together we both agreed that our “I Love You” would be represented instead by “I Hate You”.  It’s sweet, I swear to God…}

**

That’s all I’ve got.  I’m spent.  And I guarantee my connection will be here shortly too.  Until next time, I totally hate you guys…

