Yesterday was tough.  Funerals are all too commonplace in our little family unit these days and regardless of the number we’ve already attended this year, they never get any easier.  But today is not yesterday and because we are not preparing to say goodbye to anyone (though really aren’t we, everyday?) it is better.  For now, it’s okay…

Just a few things:

**

{This is The Bug, pre-funeral, contemplating I think.  “Trains, trains, cheese crackers, trains” is most likely what he’s thinking…)

**

This book is out…but there’s shipping issues.  Until they’re fixed I’ll keep coveting Rebecca’s labor of love.  Her blog is here and it’s wonderful…

**

That’s an amazing kitchen, right?!  Retro Renovation might be my new favorite blog.  Mmm, vintage home eye candy!

**

The work of Michael James Maxwell astounds me.  I think it’s the beard.  Check out more here, I imagine you’ll dig it as I do…

**

I tend to get dorky over dorky things.  Case in point, Spike Jonze’s adaptation of ‘Where The Wild Things Are’.  Look at those creatures!  With a tentative 2009 release and a score partly brought to us by Karen O (Karen O dude, KAREN O!) I’m already getting The Bug stoked for this by reading the book before bed every night…

**

Speaking of books, did I mention that every Tuesday The Bug and I get up early (at…ahem, 9 am) and head to the library?  He quickly locates books about trains and tractors and Nascar (kissing Papa’s ass, naturally) and I grab two or three books that I happily devour over the course of the day.  It’s our Two-Book Tuesday.  I let house work slide, I don’t work, but instead sit in a chair and read.  Then read some more.  Anyway, over the past two weeks I’ve covered books on the Holocaust (not nearly as depressing as one would think – made me think “Yeah, sure, I’ve lost four relatives this year but at least I won’t lose more to some crazy dictator who loves crematoriums”), death (The thing about life is that one day you’ll be dead is excellent, by the way), Whitman and his volunteer service during the Civil War (God, I want to marry Whitman but he’s you know, dead…and homosexual, so there’s that), John Lennon’s last days, and Chris Mccandless (I’m now a member of that group that glorifies him and wants to trek out to Bus 142 – I can’t help it).  I’m tackling Under the Banner of Heaven now (I’m off on this week’s reading due to the funeral) but soon I’ll report on all of them.  In the meantime, reading recommendations?

**

Is it weird that I want to live here?  Yeah, thought so.  Lori Nix rocks my face off…

**

{Photo courtesy of Chez Larsson, via Flickr.}

The Creative Collections group on Flickr is stealing all my time.  Don’t go there people, SERIOUSLY…

**

Anyway, more tomorrow I’m sure.  Today the house needs cleaned, the yard needs mowed (already?!), The Bug’s new (used) train collection (courtesy of my aunt and her four boys) needs sorting, and there is of course sewing to be done…always.  Keep in mind that I’m updating The Shop on Saturday and there are currently still a few bags sitting over there.  Off to work/read/parent/live…

