Yet another accidental absence my friends and for that I’m sorry. Last month, during that time when I thought canceling the cable (and in turn the internet, as their from the same company and a package deal) was a great idea we lost our internet and it turns out that finding a provider here in Backwoods Country is tough. But now we’ve got some (spotty, at best) wireless pulsing through our walls and things might just get back to normal.

During the Great Internet Lapse of 2008 and in the midst of all this quiet in the house (which is a completely ignorant thing to say when you’ve got a lively and loud toddler running about all day but I’m saying it anyway) I did get quite a bit of work done. I’ve got a few new bags for the store here in the next couple days and I’m gonna do my best to update on Tuesday so stay tuned for that if you’re so inclined. Provided that tomorrow there is sun outside and not little snow flurries (seriously Midwest, this is your weather?!) I’ll have some pictures up and about here…

But smack dab in the middle of all that quiet and working and reading 2029 books (I’ve established a routine of two every Tuesday after our new ritual of visiting the library in the morning) was a lot of family business. My poor family has had a shit year when it comes to our kin dying off – in January my dad’s brother died of a seizure in a bath tub and wasn’t found for two weeks, in February my grandmother died suddenly of pneumonia, last month my Great Granny (and Jude’s great-great) died and while my family is still reeling from the loss of a lady that was a rock in our familial garden, my aunt died yesterday (on my little sister’s 24th birthday, of all days) of a massive stroke. Aunt Wanda was my dad’s sister (this means he’s lost two of his siblings this year) and she was my favorite aunt. Though I love them all she was raucous and loud and hilarious, like myself, and she used to chase us down and torture us with wet willy’s when I was a wee one. My Uncle Moose (seriously), her husband, is also quite possibly the sweetest man ever and I hate that he has to go through this. They’d been raising their grand-daughter for the past five years after their own daughter died suddenly of heart failure five years ago and I can’t put into words just how awful I feel for her…

So we’ve been inhabiting funeral homes and churches and grave yards for the past few months and it’s just tiring. I hate seeing people cry and am notorious for doing everything within my power to never let a soul see me weep but at this point I feel like my aunt’s funeral might turn out to be the breaking point in all this and I may just sob like a small child in front of hundreds of people I’ve never met. I’m (sarcastically) stoked for that…

Fortunately, to take my mind of all that never ending sadness, one of my dearest friends got married last weekend and I spent two entire days making up for the fact that even though I am a procrastinator extraordinaire I told myself that making all of her wedding gifts was an excellent idea. Jules is much like me (and yet so very very different which makes me adore her more) so I thought she’d appreciate something handmade in the midst of all those expensive gifts she no doubt received and she ended up with a couple handmade pillows, coasters, placemats, and an apron. And of course, after all that work, I packaged the gifts up in brown craft paper and then sewed on cards and drew out their new name together on the outside I forgot to photograph the whole damn thing and I’ve got no reminder now of all that work…and more importantly nothing to show off. Dammit! Such is life I suppose…

Anyway, aside from all that death (which sadly now just seems to be a given at the start of every month) the past month was okay and I did my best to establish more of a work routine and I’m hoping that even though my internet is back I’ll stick to it.

I’ll pop in in the next day or so with more (and much less dreadful, I promise!) things to speak of. In the meantime, a big fat gigantic thanks a million for those that stuck around here in the silence. It’s good to be back 🙂

