Yet another dreary day here (rain, thunder, lightning, and the like) but I’m trying to stay optimistic despite the lack of sun.  The wonderful glorious-ness that is Netflix is dropping a new DVD in the mail for The Bug today and that alone is reason enough to celebrate – no more Polar Express PEOPLE!  Actually, yesterday I realized that via Netflix you can watch a few choice movies on your computer so I distracted the kid with this:

And yeah, he actually watched it!  Astroboy is apparently from the early 80’s (though I’ve never heard of it) and he ended up begging to watch the entire first season.  So much for not having cable, so that the kid’s brain doesn’t rot right out of his head.  Hmph…

Furthermore, we’ve also watched The Boy Who Wanted To Be A Bear about a zillion and a half times (amazingly, STILL better than PE!).  I only wish there was a way to find awesome kid-centered movies from outside the US.  This is apparently from France…or Japan?  Shit, I don’t know.  Anyway, it’s about a little eskimo boy who’s abducted by a polar bear for his wife, because her newborn cub was stillborn.  The boy is raised by the polar bear, until his jerky dad finds him, takes him home, and messes up his life.  The movie also features a shot of animated lady bush too, so it’s status as a kid’s movie is debatable but the kid didn’t seem to notice the girl parts floating up onscreen so I’m letting it go.  Plus, there’s all sorts of vision quests the kid goes on to become a real bear and they’re awesome to me, so it’s even more awesome to watch The Bug digging it…

**

I did some work yesterday on a custom bag, cleaned our (awfully) tiny house, poked at the floor heater for two hours after it quit working, and stared out at the rain.  And watched A LOT of Astroboy.  And I did this:

{WIP}

New bag and check out that trim!  My neighbor Jessica’s got some left in her shop so you should snap some up to.  I swear it, if there’s a trim out there that describes me perfectly, it’s this one right here…

**

I did some work in the kitchen too (which should have been work that was devoted to finishing painting the room – seriously, there’ve been bare spots on those tan/white walls for months now!).  There’s an antique store pretty close to us and while it’s mostly primitive shit I could care less about there is one booth that never lets me down, full of vintage tablecloths and towels.  Check it…

That’s one of the towels right there kids.  1981 man, 1981.  I was but a wee glimmer in my parent’s eyes.  On the left is some super quick embroidery (to draw your attention away from the unpainted top of the wall) and on the right are a few of my handmade aprons…

**

This last little personal bit must be shared…

{This is Zoe…}

Look, here’s the thing: I don’t particularly like kids.  I have one yes, and I love him to tiny little pieces but generally kids give me a weird vibe.  They don’t talk, they only sometimes walk, and they require adults to clean up their shit.  So when it comes to kids there’s really only three I tolerate – The Bug and my two nieces.  This is one of my nieces.  And she is adorable.  So adorable that every time I see her (daily) I squeal with glee and go into convulsions over her cheeks and her toddling about, mumbling while she thinks she’s truly participating in some philosophical discussion.  When Zoe’s around, I turn into my Great Granny, boxing jaws too hard and scaring the poor thing off with my high decibel declarations of love.  Poor thing.  She what it’s like being related to me?

**

In other news, I sold my first bag…and I’m super happy about that!  Methinks this bodes well for the store.  I’ll be back in a sec with some inspiration I’ve been digging lately so stay tuned friends…

