I’m sure by now most of you who read shit tons of blogs like I do have heard about 52 Nights Unplugged. You have, right? Well in case you were too busy perusing perezhilton.com and happened to miss it here’s the lowdown: Ariel has decided that her life is too connected to the internet and television and cell phones (of which I do not own…I hate phones, much to the chagrin of my friends and family. We don’t even have a land line. Scary, yes? No, it’s actually glorious!) so one night a week for an entire year she is unplugging all those things that she is linked to. Yeah, all of them. Makes one a little nervous when thinking of doing the same, eh?

Once a month I send $110 to our cable company, who so graciously provides me with super fast internet and The Bug with an endless supply of kid’s cartoons. I’ll admit it, the kid spends a lot of time in front of the tube…well, not so much in front of it but more running through the living room and stopping to stare for a good ten minutes while on his way elsewhere. But even then, I imagine that if I were to add up all the time I let him stare too closely at the tv, I’d be more than ashamed of myself. There is no substitute for learning things by getting in trouble and breaking a truck before he tries to figure out how to put it back together. What I’m saying is that the damn television isn’t helping him. The kid’s been watching Dora since he was born and still doesn’t speak a lick of Spanish for God’s sake! Every month, when I send off that large chuck of money that we certainly shouldn’t be spending on something as ignorant as cable (400 channels? Too much.), I tell myself that this is it. Next month I’m calling an cancelling…or at least whittling down, maybe to just some basic cable that provides us access only to the news and say, Nickelodeon. But it never happens. And again, that next month rolls up and I’m irate at the fact that I’m sending out more money we don’t have for a service that is doing nothing for our little family unit. Granted, at night The Fella and I like to sit in our respective chairs and unwind with a little History Channel but is it necessary? Shouldn’t we be talking about our day instead? Gazing lovingly into each other’s eyes? Alright alright, I’m not really a loving gazer BUT you get my drift. The Bug and I should use our brains more often and the television is doing nothing but making that harder…

Today, as I call the cable company to give them yet more of my hard earned cash (you know, my remaining $100 that isn’t going towards our nearly $500 utility bill) I’m cancelling that service…or dis-service, if you will. I’ll keep the super fast internet of course, as it is how I hope to help pay the bills through my store, but I’m also going to cut down on the time I spend out on the interweb too. Seriously folks, there’s another area that I would definitely be ashamed of myself if I actually kept track of all the hours I’ve wasted here. I’ll still blog, I’ll still read my favorite blogs, and I’ll no doubt continue to waste a little bit of time here and there but I’m gonna stop this train before it gets too out of hand. The Bug is three and I’m 25 years old – there are much better things we should be doing with our time…

My hope is that I might actually get some work done. Besides the usual distractions associated with a crazy little toddler, the internet just doesn’t help. Yeah, I might be able to tell you about George Clooney’s new girlfriend or what the Married To The Sea comic was about today, but that doesn’t make me any money. Jude might be able to fill you in on the latest happenings with Spongebob but I’d prefer if he could actually sing the entire Alphabet Song, as opposed to just the end (“Now I know my ABC’s, next time won’t you sing with me?” at the top of his lungs). And I hope that this makes my time on the internet more productive – just work. Well, maybe a little play but still 🙂

Anyway, that’s that. I’m working on a custom bag today and I’ll pop in with some pictures here in the next few days so stick around if you’re so inclined…

