Day five already, really?!  Is it obvious that I’m surprised at myself for actually putting the effort into finding something at least remotely interesting (wait, it is isn’t it?) to ramble on about for five days?  Well, it should be 🙂

The Shop opens in two days and I’m literally shitting myself, all while trying to convince my procrastinating hands that pushing it back just to accommodate my crafty whims is not acceptable.  Now that I’m back into sewing after a few month hiatus I’m running across all sorts of new things to try but I have to work hard at keeping my brain in line…

Opening on time, as promised, most likely means that I’ll spend the next couple nights with lots of music, coffee, and thread.  I must say, I’m happy with the things I’m making but much like last time, I feel like maybe the goods are too simple.  Not simple, necessarily, but…common?  I mean, I realize most people can’t (or just don’t think they can) sew so something that you know has been put together by a single person sitting in front of a Singer is pretty damn cool in and of itself BUT I feel like here I am, looking for MY voice again.  It’s not frustrating but it is hard.  I’m sure that before too long that thing that I find I love and that works for me will come along but waiting for it and feeling mediocre in the meantime is tough.  Most likely the next update will have to include some thread-drawing, just so I can feel singular in such a big crafty pool…

Anyway, progress from yesterday.  There wasn’t much, I’ll be honest, as The Bug was sick and required nearly non-stop attention.  Plus I was completely zapped from the night before, him being up and requesting new sippies and cars from the floor (that I could never find in the dark but GOD FORBID YOU TURN ON THAT LIGHT, MOM!) and breathing treatments.  Today, luckily though, we’re both rested and his cough is much better.  Already he’s taken his bike in a circular ride in the kitchen for a good hour, started to eat an orange and Pizza Rolls (I know, mother of the year!)  only to declare that they both make him sick and now he’s currently staring intently at the television (again, where’s my damn award?!).

Small amount of progress below and a snapshot of The Bug and his best friend…

**

{i love the rain clutch, from 100% cotton osnaburg and fabrics from Dewberry and Schmidt.  There will most definitely be a few more of these in The Shop on Friday…}

**

{The Bug & Andy…}

**

See you tomorrow friends…

